Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery


Stil Kountakis, MD, PhD Professor and Chairman, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Edward S. Porubsky,        MD Distinguished Chair in Otolaryngology skountakis@augusta.edu

As another academic year is coming to a close, it is a good time to reflect on what we accomplished, celebrate those who completed their training and welcome those who, at various stages of their careers, focus their pursuits and seek to enrich their knowledge and training.

This year we grew our business on all fronts, reaching record numbers in MCG Otolaryngology history, but what we are most proud of is our residency program. Our residents excel at all measures and lead major quality projects with institution-wide impact. No surprise then that our own Dr. Luke Edelmayer, a PGY3 resident, was selected to receive the prestigious “2019 MCG Resident of the Year” award. Luke is only the second MCG Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery resident to receive this honor. This was accompanied by a great otolaryngology residency match, making our program stronger and more diverse. We received residency applications from 40 different States of the Union, and all 7 MCG acting interns and 9 of 11 outside acting interns successfully matched. This success gives us strength and makes our future outlook brighter. With that kind of energizing momentum, look out “burnout”, there is no room for you at MCG Otolaryngology!

I wish you a great summer with good health and time to enjoy it!