Neurology and Neurosurgery


Krishnan C. Dhandapani, Ph.D.,
Department of Neurosurgery
  • Scientific reviewer, Paralyzed Veterans of America, 2017-18
  • Scientific reviewer, Department of Defense – CDMRP Clinical and Rehabilitative Medicine study section, scientific reviewer, 2017
  • Scientific reviewer, Department of Defense – CDMRP-Vision Research Program; Technology/ Therapeutic – Device Development study section, scientific reviewer, 2018
  • Scientific reviewer, Department of Defense/CDMRP – Clinical and Rehabilitative Medicine
    Research Program. Ocular Trauma study section, scientific reviewer, 2018
Sergei A. Kirov, Ph.D.
Department of Neurosurgery
  • NIH Special Emphasis Panel “Acute Brain Injury and Recovery” 2018/01 ZRG1 BDCN-Y (02) M, October 2017
  • NIH ZRG1 F03A (20), Fellowships: Neurodevelopment, Synaptic Plasticity, Neurodegeneration Study Section, Oct 2017, March 2018, and June 2018
  • Discussion Leader/Session Co-Chair. “Session 5: Spreading Depolarization”. The 14th International Conference on Acute Neurovascular Event after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage – Vasospasm 2017, Huntington Beach, CA, October 2017
  • Co-Chair at 2018/08 ZMH1 ERB-C (08). NIH BRAIN Initiative Review Panel: Tools to Facilitate High-Throughput Microconnectivity Analysis, June 2018
Cole A. Giller, M.D. Ph.D.
Department of Neurosurgery
  • Won a Caught in the Act of Great Teaching Award, MCG, January 2018
John Vender, M.D.
Department of Neurosurgery

Appointed Interim Chairman of Neurosurgery, March 2018

David C. Hess, M.D.
Department of Neurology
  • Associate Editor, Conditioning Medicine
  • NIH R01 grant, NINDS/NIA, Role PI, R01 NS099455 A1: Mechanisms of Remote Ischemic Conditioning in a VCID Model. $380,000 total costs year 1; $1,520,000 total costs for duration, 8/1/17 to 7/30/21
Nancy McNair, M.D.
Department of Neurology
  • Won the Fenwick T. Nichols Department of Neurology Resident Teaching Award
John Morgan, M.D.
Department of Neurology
  • Appointed Interim Chairman of Neurology
Debra Moore-Hill, M.D.
Department of Neurology
  • Won an Exemplary Teaching Award for Neuro clerkship, 2017
Scott Y. Rahimi, M.D.
Department of Neurosurgery
Kumar Vaibhav, Ph.D.
Department of Neurosurgery


Nathan Todnem, M.D.
Department of Neurosurgery

 Submitted an application for a Provisional Patent (US No. 62/639,130), with Cargill H. Alleyne, Jr., M.D. and Augusta University, entitled: “System and Method for Remote Augmented Reality Medical Guidance.” This technology allows 3D objects and images such as CT and MRI to be projected into the user’s field. It provides enhanced communication between a surgeon operating and a remote mentor providing feedback.